Dr. Peter Victor

Professor, York University

Peter is an economist, academic, consultant, public servant and author of "Managing without Growth: Slower by Design, not Disaster". He was a founder of the discipline of ecological economics and was the first president of the Canadian Society for Ecological Economics. He is a founding member of the New Economics Institute and the New Economy Network, on the board of the David Suzuki Foundation, and an advisor to TruCost PLC.

Tima Bansal

Professor, Ivey School of Business; Director, Ivey's Centre for Building Sustainable Value

Tima founded the Network for Business Sustainability, which is a 2200-member network comprised of managers and researchers who seek credible, comprehensive insights to confidently make informed decisions about their sustainability programs. She also pioneered the integration of sustainability into business education at Ivey, making Ivey one of the first business schools worldwide to introduce sustainability into the core MBA curriculum. Tima has been researching business sustainability since 1993, efforts which have yielded two co-edited books, more than 40 research papers, 23 teaching case studies and more than $5 million in government grants to further study business sustainability.

Raymond Côté

Professor Emeritus, Dalhousie University; recently retired Chair, Nova Scotia Round Table on Environment and Sustainable Prosperity

Ray's 40 year career pursuing sustainability includes stints as an activist, as a public servant, and then in academia. He has supervised the research of over 100 graduate and undergraduate students from around the world, and so his legacy will persist. His own research has led him to be called the father of Industrial Ecology in Canada, and he has consulted to various levels of Government and the UN Environmental Program, playing a lead role in the creation of a guide to environmental management of industrial parks. Ray created the Eco-Efficiency Centre in 1998, then the only university-based facility of its kind in the country dedicated to assisting SMEs. The Centre has worked with hundreds of small and medium companies across Nova Scotia and recognized more than 65 of them for their innovative efforts to become eco-efficient. The Centre has also trained more than 50 engineering and business students in eco-efficiency practices and supported the research of a dozen graduate students. In addition to the Round Table, Ray is on the board of Board of Directors of the new Efficiency Nova Scotia Corporation, and a member of the Advisory Board of DREAMS—the Dalhousie Research on Energy, Advanced Materials and Sustainability Program and continues to serve as a reviewer for academic publications in the environmental, energy, resource management and sustainability fields.

Dr. Brenda McCabe, Civil Engineering Department, University of Toronto Team, Chair, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Toronto
Dr. Kim Pressnail, Civil Engineering Deparment, University of Toronto Team, Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Toronto
Marianne Touchie, Civil Engineering Department, Univeristy of Toronto Team , Graduate Civil Engineering student, University of Toronto
Ekaterina Tzekova, Civil Engineering Department, University of Toronto Team, Graduate Civil Engineering student, University of Toronto

Civil Engineering Department, University of Toronto Team

In 2009, Professor Kim Pressnail found a document created by the Cousteau Society that described our obligations to future generations. Inspired, he shared it with his students. Two in particular, Ekaterina and Marianne, took the lead in revising it for use by Engineers, resulting in The Promise. The Promise does not replace the Ritual of the Calling of an Engineer (the Hipprocratic oath for Engineers), but extends its mandate to include the well-being of future generations. Ekaterina and Marianne had earlier galvanized support in the Department for introducing sustainability as a theme across the course material, and had been the catalysts for its integration in the curricula. They engaged Kim and Department Chair Brenda McCabe in the re-design of the document, and in garnering support among students and faculty. The group worked together and in its first year asked professors and the 2009 graduating students to sign the pledge. In 2010, they expanded it to include alumni. In 2011, the effort expanded once again, this time to encourage practicing engineers to sign on. In all, there are now 177 engineers in Canada who have taken The Promise. See ptfg.org for more information.